Anatomy & Physiology

Real life clinical cases for the basic sciences and USMLE Step 1 "This handy little text has everything you need to review gross anatomy... It's] perfect for first-years just starting anatomy, second-years preparing for the boards, and third- and fourth-years going over their anatomy for their surgery rotations."--Kathleen M. Donahue, third year medical student, Midwestern University/Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine "Learning on a cadaver helps you understand anatomy in 3-D; "Case Files: Anatomy" will help you understand that anatomy and how you'll use it in real clinical practice."--Brad Miller, Class of 2006, Weill Medical College of Cornell University You need exposure to clinical cases in order to pass course exams and ace the USMLE Step 1--and this book provides exactly that. It presents 53 real-life clinical cases that illustrate essential concepts in gross anatomy. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, anatomy pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With this interactive system you'll "learn" instead of "memorize." Features: 53 clinical cases, each with USMLE-style questions Clinical pearls highlight key concepts Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like a doctor Proven learning system improves your shelf exam scores

The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you’ll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today’s foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice.

Tried and true - build A&P confidence every step of the way! Here's the approach that makes A&P easier to master. A student-friendly writing style, superb art program, and learning opportunities in every chapter build a firm foundation in this must-know subject to ensure success. See what students are saying online... Great book!"This is THE best Anatomy & Physiology book I've ever used. Clear and easy to understand. Some of the areas of physiology I've had problems with in the past were made clear this term with this book! I had to have it for class of course, but I'd also read it for fun. (I plan to keep the book instead of sell it)"--A. Francis Good."This was a great text for my Anatomy and Physiology class. It was easy to understand and I got a great grade."--Alisa M. Also Available Student Workbook for Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology, 8th Edition

Schaum's Easy Outline series consists of concise, easy-to-use versions of the biggest and best-selling classics in the Schaum's Outlines series. Every book is a pared-down, simplified and tightly-focussed version a Schaum's Outline, extracting the absolute essense of the subject, presenting it in concise and readily understandable form, and emphasizing clarity and brevity. Graphic elements like sidebars, reader-alert icons and boxed highlights will feature selected points from the text, highlighting keys to learning and giving students quick pointers to the essentials.

An all-in-one visual guide to human anatomy with encyclopedic coverage from bones and muscles to systems and processes. This in-depth manual to the human body's physical structure, chemical workings, and potential problems is a must-have reference to help further your studies or knowledge of how our bodies work. Each page of The Human Body Book, updated to reflect the latest medical information, is illustrated with colorful and comprehensive diagrams, which are thoroughly annotated to take you right into the cells and fibers that are responsible for keeping the human body ticking. The opening chapter, Integrated Body, explains how the parts of the body work together at various levels of size and hierarchy to produce the living whole. It also contains an overview of the major body systems, enlivened by real-life 3-D medical scans of the entire body. The chapters that follow provide coverage of the body function by function, system by system. Eleven main body systems are covered in turn, with each section ending on common injuries, diseases, and disorders afflicting that system. The book concludes with a chapter on Growth and Development which looks in detail at how the body changes over the course of a human lifespan.

The very first of its kind, Laboratory Activity Guide for Anatomy & Physiology brings anatomy and physiology to life for entry-level students in one short semester. The integration of form with function clicks for students like never before as they apply their classroom knowledge in the laboratory setting. Covering all of the major body systems as well as other essential topics, this all-purpose manual provides 16 labs to give students invaluable hands-on experience and dozens of activity-based exercises to reinforce what they have learned, while building critical lab skills. An introductory chapter covers lab safety to prepare students for this new environment. This exciting First Edition lab manual is concise enough to cover one-semester courses as well as versatile enough to be used alongside any anatomy and physiology textbook. In addition, it doesn't require obscure, costly equipment--this manual works with the resources found in any lab and instructional tools that can be easily acquired. This unique and democratic approach revolutionizes the way A&P programs can be taught. Students reinforce learning through a variety of exercises and questions, including labeling, short answer, fill-in-the-blank, observation, and definitions. Multiple exercises are included in each lab so instructors have the freedom to select which exercises will work for their curriculum and available lab materials.

The new edition of the hugely successful Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness continues to bring its readers the core essentials of human biology presented in a clear and straightforward manner. Fully updated throughout, the book now comes with enhanced learning features including helpful revision questions and an all new art programme to further clarify the explanations given in the text. The 13th edition retains its popular website, which contains a wide range of 'critical thinking' exercises as well as new animations, an audio-glossary, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test program, and helpful weblinks. This book is ideal for students of nursing and allied health professions, biomedical and paramedical science, operating department practice, complementary therapy and massage therapy, as well as trainee Health Care Assistants and those studying A' level or BTEC (or equivalent) human biology. Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness will be of particular help to readers new to the subject area, those returning to study after a period of absence and for anyone whose first language is not English. Latest edition of the world's most popular textbook on basic human anatomy and physiology with over 1.5 million copies sold worldwide Clear, no nonsense writing style helps make learning easy Accompanying website contains animations, audio-glossary, case studies and other self-assessment material, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test software, and helpful weblinks Includes basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders Contains helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and design icons together with a stunning illustration and photography collection Contains clear explanations of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, with helpful examples from the text, plus a glossary and an appendix of normal biological values. Particularly valuable for students who are completely new to the subject, or returning to study after a period of absence, and for anyone whose first language is not English All new illustration programme brings the book right up-to-date for today's student Helpful 'Spot Check' questions at the end of each topic to monitor progress Fully updated throughout with the latest information on common and/or life threatening diseases and disorders Review and Revise end-of-chapter exercises assist with reader understanding and recall Over 120 animations - many of them newly created - help clarify underlying scientific and physiological principles and make learning fun