African-American Culture
African American Culture
- ThoughtCo.com: African-American History
Discover the literature, music, dance and art of African-American culture. Find topics such as the meaning of spirituals, the Harlem Renaissance, the rise of hip-hop and African-American film history.
- African American Cultural Center, Buffalo, NY
The African American Cultural consists of five core components: the AACC Dance and Drum Performance Company, Paul Robeson Theatre at the African American Cultural Center, Pine Grill Jazz Reunion, Jumpin™ Jambalaya Summer Program, and the AACC Cultural Enrichment/Educational Directives After School Program.
- African American World
PBS presents the broad range of the black experience in the United States, from the Harlem Renaissance to the ongoing debate over affirmative action.
- Archives of African American Music and Culture
Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.
- The Art Institute of Chicago's African American Art
The Art Institute of Chicago's collection of African American art provides a rich introduction to over 100 years of noted achievements in painting, sculpture, and printmaking. Ranging chronologically from the Civil War era to the Harlem Renaissance and from the civil-rights struggles following World War II to the contemporary period, these works constitute a dynamic visual legacy.
- Guide to Exploring African American Culture
Found on Penn State’s College of
Agricultural Sciences on the Web:
www.cas.psu.edu - National Galley of Art's African American Artists: Collection Highlights
The Gallery's collection of American art includes nearly 400 works by African-American artists. This online tour offers commentary on a selection of twenty-two paintings, works on paper, and sculpture ranging from a colonial portrait by Joshua Johnson of Baltimore to modern and contemporary pieces by Jacob Lawrence, Romare Bearden, Alma Thomas, Sam Gilliam, Barkley Hendricks, Willie Cole, Kara Walker, and Lorna Simpson.
- The National Museum of African American Music
The National Museum of African American Music (NMAAM) has defined its focus to solely feature the impact African Americans have on America’s music.
North Carolina African-American History
-
SCROLL DOWN PAGE FOR MORE
Exploring North Carolina: African American History
Anna Julia Haywood Cooper, from A Voice from the South, published 1892.
This page gathers resources in NCpedia that cover the history and heritage of African Americans in North Carolina from the colonial era to the present day. It does not include all resources in NCpedia but rather a selection that covers important topics and events, including: biographies; the art and cultural heritage of African Americans in the state; slavery and the ante-bellum era; the struggle for citizenship and civil rights; business and educational leadership; politics; and historic sites and monuments.
All NCpedia articles related to African American History
African American Biographies
Background
Selected Historic Places
History of African American Education
African American Business History
Organizations: Civic, Business, Political & Religious
Culture and the Arts
Law, Segregation and Politics
Civil Rights
Ante-Bellum to Mid-19th Century Era History
African-American History Websites
African American History
- About.com's African American Women's History
A timeline of events and birthdates for African American women and other women involved in African American history, from 1492 to the present day.
- African American History Month
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
- Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH)
Founders of Black History Month, the mission of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH) is to promote, research, preserve, interpret and disseminate information about Black life, history and culture to the global community.
- Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History
The Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History is the world's largest institution dedicated to the African American experience. The museum provides learning opportunities, exhibitions, programs and events based on collections and research that explore the diverse history and culture of African Americans and their African origins.
- The DuSable Museum
America's foremost museum of African American history, it was founded in 1957 by Dr. Margaret T. and Charles G. Burroughs on the south side of Chicago.
- LEARN NC's African American History
LEARN NC, a program of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Education, provides this guide to lesson plans, articles, and websites to help bring African American history alive in the classroom.
- Library of Congress: African American History: 17 collections
American Memory, from the Library of Congress, provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- The National Museum of African American History and Culture
The National Museum of African American History and Culture will be a place where all Americans can learn about the richness and diversity of the African American experience, what it means to their lives and how it helped us shape this nation.
- The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration's Black History
Features full-text manuscripts documenting African-American history and culture from the early 19th through the 20th centuries.
- Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
A selection of 500 images of African Americans from the 19th century, searchable by subject and keyword.
- Digital Schomburg: African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
A digital collection of over 50 published works by 19th-century black women writers.
General Interest
General Interest
- U.S. Census Bureau - Facts for Features - Black History Month 2021
The facts are made possible by the invaluable responses to the U.S. Census Bureau’s surveys. We appreciate the public’s cooperation as we continuously measure America’s people, places and economy. Note: The reference to the black population in this publication is to single-race black people (“black alone”) unless otherwise noted.