ACA (Academic Success Classes)

Here are some search strategies to help with catalog and database exploration:

• Consider your content type (media format) needs based upon the scope and focus of the assignment
• Use keywords (creative keyword combinations) and synonyms to search in catalogs and databases
• Set field filters such as: publication date, content type, full text, peer-reviewed...
• Look for relevant related results/similar items offered after searches  
• Look for linked subject headings in the details of your selected item
• Consult and track a specific resource's citations/references
• Cite- to save time and stress, keep bibliographic notes (citations) as you find and consider your resources. 
• Use Boolean Operators to search (AND, OR, NOT, "", *)

Note: Use these capitalized words to direct search engine logic. AND will combine ideas and refine your searches. OR will parse out ideas and expand your searches. NOT will exclude a designated idea. An asterisk * placed after a root word will include all derivatives. Ideas featuring more than one word should be “phrase-searched” with quotation marks as such.

Examples: "distance education" OR "virtual learning"; rainforests AND “biological diversity”; rituals OR rites; lute AND music; therapy NOT physical; “law enforcement” OR police; “media bias” OR “fake news”; literacy AND misinformation; chaos AND quantum; wetlands AND swamp* NOT marsh*; archiv* (includes archive, archives, archival, archiving, archivist, archivistics, etc.)

Here are some research tips to help you work more efficiently from a librarian's perspective:

• Leverage your passion and curiosity; enthusiasm about a topic will make everything easier. In order to avoid boredom, fatigue, and desperation, seek ways to make your assignments personally relevant and your topics exciting. 

• Get familiar with the language (terminology) used by experts in the subject/field. Knowing key terms and synonyms will help you better represent and/or interpret your sources.

• Use library resources. Start on the BCCC Lester Library web page and use the catalog and databases. The open web is limited and unreliable. However, the open web can be used for lateral reading and cross referencing when doing critical evaluations of a resource.

• Draft an outline to organize and/or visualize your topic themes, thoughts, and/or methodology. Adjust your scope with categorization and prioritization.

• Consider archives and search for primary sources related to your research topic. Engaging these can make your interpretations more direct, dynamic, & deep.

• Open multiple tabs (on your web browser) to regularly investigate links, items, and pages. This is easier than using the back/forth arrows on only one or two tabs. To be successful in finding what you need, always be willing to investigate further.

• Cite! Keep a list of bibliographic notes (citations) for potential relevant sources as you discover them. Finalizing your selection of these sources will come as you write. Building your citation list (works cited/references) early on will save you time and stress and keep you organized. Use APA, CMS/Turabian, or MLA citation styles (see linked websites or the library for guidance).