Sociology

Drawing on up-to-the-minute examples, cutting-edge research, and the most current data, Essentials of Sociology powerfully illustrates how a sociological imagination can make us more thoughtful members of our social world, better citizens, and more effective future workers. (NEW) "Employing Your Sociological Imagination" features highlight the practical value of sociology to a wide range of careers. Extensive pedagogy and innovative media help students not only succeed in the course, but also develop the skills necessary for life beyond college.

Our Social World: Introduction to Sociology inspires students to develop their sociological imaginations, to see the world and personal events from a new perspective, and to confront sociological issues on a day-to-day basis. Organized around the "Social World" model, a conceptual framework that demonstrates the relationships among individuals (the micro level); organizations, institutions, and subcultures (the meso level); and societies and global structures (the macro level), Jeanne H. Ballantine, Keith A. Roberts, and Kathleen Odell Korgen use this framework to help students develop the practice of using three levels of analysis, and to view sociology as an integrated whole, rather than a set of discrete subjects.The Seventh Edition includes new coverage of climate change, the influence of robots and artificial intelligence on workers, race relations in the Trump era, issues related to transgender identity and gender fluidity, sexual harassment in the workplace and the #MeToo movement, declining marriage rates, the impact of tracking for students at all academic achievement levels, smoking as an example of health and inequality in the US, gun violence and the student movement to control access to guns, social media, and Russian interference in the 2016 election.

Students love The Real World because it was written for them. In every chapter, Ferris and Stein use examples from everyday life and pop culture to get students thinking sociologically and to show the relevance of sociology to their relationships, jobs, and the future of society. Innovative Data Workshops in every chapter and online give students a chance to apply theoretical concepts to their own lives and actually do sociology. With low-cost formats and a robust support package, The Real World sets both students and instructors up for success.

The Das Kapital of the 20th century. An essential text, and the main theoretical work of the situationists. Few works of political and cultural theory have been as enduringly provocative. From its publication amid the social upheavals of the 1960's up to the present, the volatile theses of this book have decisively transformed debates on the shape of modernity, capitalism, and everyday life in the late 20th century. This is the original translation by Fredy Perlman, kept in print continuously for the last 30 years, keeping the flame alive when no-one else cared.

In Sociology: Exploring the Architecture of Everyday Life, David Newman shows students how to see the "unfamiliar in the familiar"--to step back and see organization and predictability in their personal experiences. With his approachable writing style and lively personal anecdotes, the author's goal from the first edition has been the same: to write a textbook that "reads like a real book." Many adopters of this book are fans of Peter Berger′s classic works, which helped introduce the idea of "social constructionism" to sociology. Newman uses the metaphors of "architecture" and "construction," to help students understand that society is not something that exists "out there," independently of themselves; it is a human creation that is planned, maintained, or altered by individuals. Using vivid prose, current examples, and fresh data, the Thirteenth Editionpresents a unique and thought-provoking overview of how society is constructed and experienced. Instead of surveying every subfield in sociology, the more streamlined coverage (14 chapters) focuses on the individual and society, the construction of self and society, and social inequality in the context of social structures.   

For courses in Introductory Sociology A down-to-earth approach to sociology Sociology: A Down-to-Earth Approach highlights the sociology of everyday life and its relevance to students' lives. Throughout the text, author James Henslin shares the excitement of sociology through his acclaimed down-to-earth approach and personal writing style. Six central themes help stimulate students' sociological imaginations: a down-to-earth approach, globalization, cultural diversity, critical thinking, the new technology, and the influence of the mass media on our lives. The Thirteenth Edition has been extensively revised to include contemporary examples and fresh topics that bring sociology to life. Also available with MySocLab® MySocLab for the Introductory Sociology course extends learning online to engage students and improve results. Media resources with assignments bring concepts to life, and offer students opportunities to practice applying what they've learned. Please note: this version of MySocLab does not include an eText.   Sociology: A Down-to-Earth Approach, Thirteenth Edition is also available via REVEL(tm), an interactive learning environment that enables students to read, practice, and study in one continuous experience. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab(tm) & Mastering(tm) does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab & Mastering, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab & Mastering, search for: 0134481968 / 9780134481968  Sociology: A Down-to-Earth Approach plus MySocLab® for Introductory Sociology - Access Card Package, 13/e Package consists of: 013420557X / 9780134205571  Sociology: A Down-to-Earth Approach, 13/e 0133878104 / 9780133878103  MySocLab for Introductory Sociology Access Card

Exploring more than 80 of the big ideas and key theories in the field of sociology in a clear and simple way, this is the perfect introduction to the study of how humans live and interact with each other.  The Sociology Book offers a deep dive into a range of societal issues, ranging from government and gender identity to inequalities, globalization, and even the "Disneyfication" of today's world. New globalizing forces make our world increasingly interconnected. Similar issues affect us all: discover the tension between the needs of the individual and society, the changing workplace, and the role of everything from government to mass culture in our lives. To explain each concept, The Sociology Book makes each topic crystal clear using quirky graphics, pithy quotes, and step-by-step summaries. It defines terms such as "liquid modernity" and "communitarianism", and explains the theories of seminal thinkers from Karl Marx and Auguste Comte to Sharon Zukin and Judith Butler. Examining everything from antisocial behavior to how the middle classes monopolize the best jobs, The Sociology Book is an unmissable read for students and anyone interested in human behavior.   Series Overview: Big Ideas Simply Explained series uses creative design and innovative graphics along with straightforward and engaging writing to make complex subjects easier to understand. With over 7 million copies worldwide sold to date, these award-winning books provide just the information needed for students, families, or anyone interested in concise, thought-provoking refreshers on a single subject.

With thorough coverage of inequality in health care access and practice, this leading textbook has been widely acclaimed by teachers as the most accessible of any available. It introduces and integrates recent research in medical sociology and emphasizes the importance of race, class, gender throughout. This new edition leads students through the complexities of the evolving Affordable Care Act. It significantly expands coverage of medical technology, end-of-life issues, and alternative and complementary health care--topics students typically debate in the classroom. 　Many new textboxes and enhancements in pedagogy grace this new edition, which is essential in the fast-changing area of health care. New to this Edition *More textboxes relating the social aspects of medicine to students' lives *Expanded coverage leading students through the complex impacts of the ACA and health care reform　 *Expanded coverage of medical technology, end-of-life issues, and alternative and complementary health care　 *'Health and the Internet' sections updated and renovated toward student assignments　 *New, end of chapter lists of terms *Updated test bank

Understanding the Sociology of Health continues to offer an easy to read introduction to sociological theories essential to understanding the current health climate. Up-to-date with key policy and research, and including case studies and exercises to critically engage the reader, this book shows how sociology can answer complex questions about health and illness, such as why health inequalities exist.   To better help with your studies this book contains: ·         a global perspective with international examples; ·         a new chapter on health technologies; ·         online access to videos of the author discussing key topics as well as recommended further readings; ·         a glossary, chapter summaries and reflective questions to help you engage with the subject.   Though aimed primarily at students on health and social care courses and professions allied to medicine, this textbook provides valuable insights for anyone interested in the social aspects of health.