Nursing & Health Sciences

• AHRQ: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality 

  AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

• AMA: American Medical Association                                                                                                                                                              The AMA promotes the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

• ANA: American Nurses Association 

  Unite with registered nurses across the nation to advance your career; gain access to webinars, resources, and journals.

• Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) 

  The CDC's primary online communication channel.

• Mayo Clinic 

  Clinical experts provide current medical information and news on health topics.

• National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine 

  Provides information about health care systems, practices, and products not generally considered part of conventional medicine.

• National Institute of Mental Health 

  NIMH focuses on the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses.

• National Institutes of Health 

  The NIH is the nation's medical research agency made up of 27 health institutes and centers.

• U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

  The Department of Health and Human Services strives to protect the health of Americans and provide essential human services.

• WHO: World Health Organization WHO leads global efforts - using science-based policies and programmes - to expand universal health coverage. We direct and coordinate the world’s response to health emergencies.

Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) is the integration of the best available evidence with clinical expertise. For more information, click through this presentation created by the University of Minnesota Libraries: Evidence Based Practice Tutorial

• Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM) 

  CEBM is a part of the University of Oxford. The CEBM aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care through conferences, workshops and EBM tools so that all health care professionals can maintain the highest standards of medicine.

• Cochrane Collaboration - Glossary of EBP Terms 

  Definitions used by the Cochrane Collaboration.

• Duke University Medical Center Library and Archives 

  Evidence Based Practice Tutorial

• Evidence Based Nursing Journal 

  Evidence-Based Nursing systematically searches a wide range of international healthcare journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research and relevance to best nursing practice.

• Evidence Based Reports 

  Under the Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5-year contracts are awarded to institutions in the United States and Canada to serve as EPCs. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics to produce various types of evidence reports. These reports may be used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, clinical practice guidelines, and research agendas.

• National Institute for Nursing Research (NINR) 

  NINR supports research to develop improved, personalized strategies to treat and prevent the adverse symptoms of illness across diverse populations and settings.

• The Auscultation Assistant 

  Provides heart sounds, heart murmurs, and breath sounds in order to help medical students and others improve their physical diagnosis skills.

• Duke Medical Center Library: Images on the Web 

  NOTE: Some of the links included are limited to Duke students only. However, the majority of links are for sites found on the Web.

• Easy Auscultation 

  Heart Murmurs & Lung Sounds
  Lessons, Quizzes & Guides

• MedPix 

  Medical image database and radiology portal.

• NIH Photo Galleries 

  Includes images from numerous healthcare organizations including the National Institutes of Health, the National Cancer Institute, and the National Library of Medicine.

• Practical Clinical Skills: Heart Sounds, Lung Sounds Reference Guide 

  This is a reference guide for heart and lung sounds. The sounds can be directly accessed below or filtered by auscultation position. For each sound we provide audio recordings and listening advice.

• Public Health Image Library (PHIL) 

  Contains photographs, illustrations, and multimedia files produced and organized by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

• Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase. 

  Download thousands of medical illustrations, videos, interactive tools, and monographs of anatomy, physiology, embryology, surgery, trauma, pathology, diseases, conditions and other topics. SMART Imagebase users may download images for educational, non-commercial use in lectures, presentations, slide shows, web sites and more. Common types of visual presentations include PowerPoint™ shows, handouts, poster sessions, and interactive Flash animations.

• WebPath Internet Pathology Labratory 

  The WebPath® educational resource contains over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions.